PUBLIC 1st Notice: Dog License Sales
Three ways to buy Dog Tags and keep your best friend legal:
1.Buy online at: www.doglicenses.us/OH/Morrow/
Each current Dog License holder will receive an informational letter in the mail with access code information. Online Sales start after December 1.
2. Buy by Mail (Checks only – NO cash): mail to Morrow County Auditor Patricia K. Davies, 48 East High Street, Mt. Gilead, Ohio 43338: current dog license holders will be mailed a renewal form; return the bottom portion signed, verify & update information on all dogs and include a check with postage added or self-addressed & stamped envelope.
3. RED Drop Box at the Court House: current dog license holders will be mailed a renewal form; return the bottom portion signed, verify & update information on all dogs and include a check with postage added or self-addressed & stamped envelope.
Ohio Law (ORC 955.21) requires that licenses be renewed each year between December 1st and January 31st.Fees set by the Board of Morrow County Commissioners
Adult Dog License - $18.00 PER DOG due by January 31st (late fee of $18.00 per dog will apply if not postmarked by due date).
Kennel License - $90 for five tags and is available through the Auditor's Office ONLY with Dog Warden Inspection Letter (additional tags may be purchased for $1.00 each) due by January 31st (late fee of $90.00 and $1.00 each tag will apply if not postmarked by due date).
A duplicate license is only $5.00 to transfer a current license to a new owner is only $5.00
We ask all dog owners to place the new dog tag on the dog’s collar immediately to help insure your dog’s safe return home.Current Licenses Outside Morrow County
If you move to Morrow County from another county within Ohio we will honor the license until it is expired. If you move here from another state you are required to purchase a license within 30 days.Lost Dogs
Dog licenses are designed to assist in the location and return of a lost pet. The online payments website will allow a search by dog license # to assist in returning lost dogs to their owners.
Some important questions and answers regarding the licensing of your dog:
Why License Your Dog?
IT's THE LAW!
Must my dog wear a tag?
YES. Ohio law requires it. The dog warden may impound dogs without tags.
Why do I need to license my dog?
First, Ohio law requires that you license your dog. Second, a license tag attached to your dog's collar proves ownership and is your pet's ticket home if he gets lost.
Can I let my dog run loose if he is licensed?
NO! It is against the law. Ohio law specifies that all dogs must be confined to your property or under reasonable control - such as on a leash when being walked. It is not safe to let your dog roam the neighborhood.
What do I do if I find a lost dog?
If the dog is wearing a current Morrow County license tag, call the Morrow County Auditor's Office at 946-4060 to find out the owner's name. If the dog is not wearing a current license tag, call the dog warden at 946-1747.
What if I move?
If you move within Morrow County, please call 946-4060 with your new address and telephone number so we can keep the information up-to-date. If you move to another county, call that County's Auditor for licensing information.